GE Intelligent Platforms GEIP e-Forum


NOTICE: This forum is for users to exchange information about GE Intelligent Platforms products. While it is moderated by GE, each post may not be explicitly answered by GE Intelligent Platforms employees. If your case needs an immediate response, please call 1-800-433-2682.

Go Back   GE Intelligent Platforms e-Forum > Industrial Software > HMI/SCADA - CIMPLICITY

HMI/SCADA - CIMPLICITY Provides superior HMI and SCADA functionality and establishes a solid foundation for Collaborative Internet Manufacturing.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2012, 02:21 AM
briana banks briana banks is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
briana banks is on a distinguished road
Alarm popup in cimplicity only for special alarms?.

Hi All

please let me rephrase my previous question...
Poping the alarm screen for any alarm can be very annoying.
Thus, i want to pop the screen only for critical alarms.

isn't there any way to direct only specific alarms to complicity built in alarm popup screen?

i saw in many HMI software packages (even in cheap ones) , that i can configure each alarm Tag/Point and direct it (or not) to popup by a single mouse click !

why isn't there such way to do this in cimplicity?

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2012, 05:39 AM
mersin mersin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 296
mersin is on a distinguished road
I'm not sure what you are tryig to do. Pop-up a screen every time a critical alarm generated? What is the point of "single mouse click" ?

Every point has an alarm class like HIGH, LOW tec... (under Alarm tab) you can add your own class into that list. Then by using Event Editor you can run a script and do what every you want whenever any alarm in that class is generated.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:20 AM
briana banks briana banks is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
briana banks is on a distinguished road
Quote:
I'm not sure what you are tryig to do. Pop-up a screen every time a critical alarm generated? What is the point of "single mouse click" ?
What my client ask me to do is,
Only for "factory is going to blow up" alarms, then pop the alarm screen. otherwise only blink an icon on the main screen, the operator will see the icon and will press a push button to open alarm screen.

many HMI packages allow me to do so by a single mouse click. :-(


Quote:
Every point has an alarm class like HIGH, LOW tec... (under Alarm tab) you can add your own class into that list. Then by using Event Editor you can run a script and do what every you want whenever any alarm in that class is generated.
I did it.
I'm running cimplicity on windows server 2008.
so running the script, pops the screen only on my local user-admin window
other cimplicity viewers (different computers) cannot see the screen pops.

Last edited by briana banks; 06-15-2012 at 05:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2012, 08:24 AM
mersin mersin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 296
mersin is on a distinguished road
I see,

There are some virtual points that can help; for example "$CLASS_HIGH.UNACKED", which holds the unack alarm count for HIGH alarm class.

You can go into the each screen (Cimedit), right click on your screen, from "Events" create a new event of "Expresison High" and the expresison will be $CLASS_HIGH.UNACKED (which will mean whenever this point is not zero) run a procedure that will popup a screen.

Since you do this inside your Screen it's not important where you run it (From Server or Viewer).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2012, 03:27 AM
briana banks briana banks is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
briana banks is on a distinguished road
Quote:
You can go into the each screen (Cimedit), right click on your screen, from "Events" create a new event of "Expresison High" and the expresison will be $CLASS_HIGH.UNACKED (which will mean whenever this point is not zero) run a procedure that will popup a screen.
Instead of going into each screen i can create a linked menu bar and do the event there.
But this is something i want to avoid since it is a complicated facility
with hundreds of screens created by several different subcontractors.
My project is only small part of it. I'm authorized to edit only my screens.

In Control Maestrol HMI for example, this is an easy task.You can configure each alarm whether to send it to popup or just 'event summaries'.

Is there a way to get a "Handle" to the running screen, like the command
Code:
CimGetScreen
that can be executed from the program editor ?.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2012, 09:16 PM
Moose Moose is offline
Community Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,679
Moose is on a distinguished road
Red face

The path you are going down is going to be problematic. If you are asking if you can get the handle to the current screen that is opened, the answer is "sometimes". Microsoft has changed the newer Operating Systems to not allow things running under a service (aka the Event Manager) from interacting with user sessions such as CimView. So on any relatively newer OS you will not be able to do this, and you will not be able to initiate a popup.

There may be workarounds that work, but I have yet to see one.

Your best option is as you suggested yourself in that you have a event that triggers on expression update for a CimView container. That also makes it portable, as if you are expecting a popup to occur on a server (if you were able to get the Event Editor method to work), it wouldn't work on a standalone Viewer. Standalone Viewers do not have an Event Manager running.

Hope this helps.

Moose
__________________
Alces Alces Maxime Fuge :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2012, 11:01 AM
briana banks briana banks is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
briana banks is on a distinguished road
Hi
Quote:
Microsoft has changed the newer Operating Systems to not allow things running under a service (aka the Event Manager) from interacting with user sessions such as CimView
How the stand-alone AMV works?
Isn't there a way to specify that the stand-alone AMV pops to the top as one of the aforementioned specific new alarm is generated?

Thanx

Last edited by briana banks; 06-25-2012 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2012, 12:39 PM
Moose Moose is offline
Community Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,679
Moose is on a distinguished road
Red face

No matter what you do, you need to have a user-level application listening to the event that triggers you to do an action. The action itself doesn't matter - whether you open a screen, stand-alone amv, etc. The problem is listening for the event and reacting. The only way is via a screen or a standalone exe that you run that does this.

Moose
__________________
Alces Alces Maxime Fuge :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-28-2012, 02:16 AM
briana banks briana banks is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
briana banks is on a distinguished road
OK.

never had a chance to check this before ...

if i configure stand-alone amv to pop on any alarm i.e.
Alarm Viewer-->Alarm List configuration-->Tab -General 'window placement' -->Pop to to top on new alarms.

will it pop on viewer's screen?
if yes, than how?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

e-Forum Legal Notice





Contact Us     |     Privacy Policy     |     Terms & Conditions     2010 General Electric Company