GE Intelligent Platforms GEIP e-Forum


NOTICE: This forum is for users to exchange information about GE Intelligent Platforms products. While it is moderated by GE, each post may not be explicitly answered by GE Intelligent Platforms employees. If your case needs an immediate response, please call 1-800-433-2682.

Go Back   GE Intelligent Platforms e-Forum > CNC > CNC Systems

CNC Systems Computer Numerical Controls (GE Fanuc branded)

 
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:41 AM
markof markof is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
markof is on a distinguished road
Complete backup of 16M and 18M

Hello!

I dont know how to do complete backup of everything on machine (HMI, NC, PLC, SRAM backup). for example, I would like to have complete backup (system param,plc param, programs, offsets, variables........) if whole controle unit, PLC or his internal memory card and analogusly somehow become useless and we need to change it.
Can this be done only with RS232, or I have to use PCMCIA?

BTW. I know how to transfer programs from PC to machine with RS232, and I know procedure for SRAM data backup (but I couldnt achieve that, probably because od param 20 )

New laptops dont have RS232 port (in best case they only have LPT1). So I dont know which program to use to communicate with machine. I have cable USB to RS232 and LPT to RS232.

thank you!

Last edited by markof; 11-18-2008 at 08:59 AM.
  #2  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:13 AM
Stevo Stevo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 103
Stevo is on a distinguished road
Step 1: Set up your Personal Computer (PC) or laptop to receive data.
Step 2: Punch out NC Parameters as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Select PARAMETER screen by pressing [SYSTEM] key and (PARAM) softkey.
Press (OPRT) softkey and ( > ) right arrow softkey.
Press (PUNCH) softkey and (EXEC) softkey.
Step 3: Punch out PMC Parameters as follows
Select MDI mode.
Turn on Parameter Write Enable.
Press [SYSTEM] key and (PMC) softkey.
Press (PMCPRM) and (KEEPRL) softkeys.
Move the cursor to K17 and set bit 1 to “1”.
Select EDIT mode.
Press (<) and then (>) soft keys.
Press (I/O) softkey to set parameters for I/O operation
CHANNEL NO. = Press “1” and [INPUT] keys.
DEVICE NAME = Press (FDCAS) softkey.
KIND OF DATA = Press (PARAM) softkey.
FUNCTION =Press (WRITE) softkey.
FILE NO =Press [-] [1] [INPUT] keys.
Press (EXEC) softkey.

Step 4: Punch out Pitch Error Compensation data as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Select PITCH ERROR COMPENSATION screen by pressing [SYSTEM] key and (PARAM), (>), and (PITCH) softkeys.
Press (OPRT) and (>) soft keys.
Press (PUNCH) AND (EXEC) softkeys.

Step 5: Punch out Custom Macro Variables as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Display TOOL OFFSET screen by pressing [OFFSET] key.
Press (>) and then (MACRO) softkeys to display macro variable screen.
Press (OPRT) and then (>) softkeys.
Press (PUNCH) and (EXEC) to output variables No. 500 ~ 999.

Step 6: Punch out Part Programs as follows
Verify NC PRM 3202 bit 4 and bit 0 = 0. If “1”, 8000 and 9000 series programs are protected and will not be output.
Select EDIT mode.
Select PROGRAM screen by pressing [PROG] key and (PRGRM) softkey.
Press (OPRT) and (>) softkeys.
Key in “O-9999” to output all programs.
Press (PUNCH) and (EXEC) softkeys.

Step 7: Punch out Tool Offset Data as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Display to TOOL OFFSET screen by pressing [OFFSET] key and (OFFSET) softkey.
Press (OPRT) and (>) softkeys.
Press (PUNCH) and (EXEC) softkeys.


Fanuc Series 16 / 18 / 21 Memory Restore Procedure

Depress EMERGENCY STOP button.
Verify correct communication parameters from output procedure.
Step 1: Input CNC Parameters as follows
Display to PARAMETER screen by pressing [SYSTEM] key and (PARAM) softkey.
Press (OPRT) and (>) softkey.
Press (READ) and (EXEC) softkeys. Parameters will be input.
When input is complete, power the CNC OFF and ON.
Parameter No. 1815 bit 5 set to “0” will disable an alarm 310 with an Absolute Pulse coder system.

Step 2: Input PMC PARAMETERS as follows
Verify Parameter Write Enable = 1.
Press [SYSTEM] key and (PMC) softkey.
Press (PMCPRM), then (KEEPRL) softkeys.
Move cursor to K17 and press [1], [0] and [INPUT].
Select EDIT mode.
Press ( < ) and then ( > ) softkeys.
Press (I/O) softkey, and set parameters for I/O operation.
CHANNEL NO=press [ 1 ] and [ INPUT ] keys.
DEVICE NAME=press (FDCAS) softkey.
FUNCTION=press (READ) softkey.
FILE NO=PRESS [ 2 ] and [ INPUT ] keys.
Press (EXEC) softkey to read PMC parameters.

Step 3: Input PITCH ERROR COMPENSATION data as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Verify Parameter Write Enable = 1.
Press [SYSTEM] key and (PARAM), ( > ), and (PITCH) softkeys.
Press (OPRT) and ( > ) softkeys.
Press (READ) and (EXEC) softkeys to input Pitch Error data.

Step 4: Input CUSTOM MACRO VARIABLES as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Turn off the Program Protect key.
Press [PROGRAM] key and (PRGRM) softkey.
Press ( > ) softkey.
Press [ O ] and [ 1 ] keys, then (READ) and (EXEC) softkeys.
Select AUTO mode and execute program O0001.
Verify variables were written to Macro Variable table.
Delete program O0001.

Step 5: Input PART PROGRAMS as follows
Set the following parameters in MDI mode, if necessary.
PRM 3201,bit 6 =1
PRM 3201, bit 1=0
PRM 3202, bit 4=0
PRM 3202, bit 0=0
Select EDIT mode.
Turn off the Program Protect key.
Press [PROGRAM] key and (PRGRM) softkey.
Press ( > ) softkey.
Press (READ) and (EXEC) softkeys to read part programs.

Step 6: Input TOOL OFFSETS as follows
Select EDIT mode.
Turn off the Program Protect key.
Press the [OFFSET] key and (OFFSET) softkey.
Press the (OPRT) and the ( > ) softkeys.
Press the (READ) and (EXEC) softkeys to read in Tool Offsets.

Stevo
  #3  
Old 11-18-2008, 07:15 PM
mustang mustang is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 101
mustang is on a distinguished road
Isn't it much easier to back up everything from the boot screen ?
  #4  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:12 AM
markof markof is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
markof is on a distinguished road
Stevo, thank You!!
Mustang; Yes it is. To do SRAM backup from boot screen I have to use PCMCIA (as far as I know it's the only way). Slot in machine where I attach compact flash card is covered with oil and dirt. Please dont ask why . And if I somehow manage to attach card, when I select SRAM data backup, on screen flashes message Memory card mount error. Any idea?

One big problem left; I need program to communicate with machine. How do you communicate with machines with new laptops that dont have RS232 port?

Last edited by markof; 11-19-2008 at 05:29 AM.
  #5  
Old 11-19-2008, 10:26 AM
Stevo Stevo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 103
Stevo is on a distinguished road
There is a few things that I know of that can give you the "memory card mount error". Bad card, format error, or my problem was there was 1 bent pin in the slot.

There is wiring that will go from USB to RS232. I hear it works well. I have never tried it but here is probably what you are looking for.
http://www.nextag.com/Cables-to-Go-P...1324D80A92912C

You will need DNC software to communicate. I use Dostek software. There is free software but you will have to do some looking. Dostek is pretty cheap, easy to use, and great support. You might want to ask about the cable from Dostek. I usually make my own cables but I have directed other people to them and you can buy the cables from them. They might have the USB-RS232.

Dostek Incorporated
238 Westheights Drive
Kitchener, Ontario
Canada N2N 1j9
Tel (519) 742-5721
Fax (519) 741-8669
www.dostek.com

Ask for Doug Struthers.

Stevo
  #6  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:07 PM
mustang mustang is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 101
mustang is on a distinguished road
If USB to serial doesn't work you could also try using a PCMCIA to serial card in your laptop.
  #7  
Old 11-20-2008, 08:43 AM
markof markof is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
markof is on a distinguished road
Stevo, thx again, You are very helpful.

I tried already with 4 different cards, I checked all pins.Its all ok. I formated card with my laptop and it didnt help. When I try to format card with machine in boot menu, NMI error appears and I cant do anything. One thing more, it's very dificult to attach card in its slot, like the card adapter is too big. But on other fanuc's that we have (they have slot in front of machine, on HMI) I dont have any problems with SRAM backup and attaching card.

I ordered cable you suggested. Tomorrow i'll try it.

Thank you for contact. I will try first my old program with new cable (if I convince my laptop that USB1 port is COM1 port and if my old program will accept that).

Marko
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

e-Forum Legal Notice





Contact Us     |     Privacy Policy     |     Terms & Conditions     2010 General Electric Company